The solution for questioning patients via mobile devices.
Questioning patients via mobile devices.

Patient diary "eHAppI"

Feasibility study of an “e-Health” application for communication and intervention in patients undergoing allogeneic stem-cell transplantation.

First Patient In Study Design Number of Patients Coordinating Principal Investigator Support
February 2014 Pilotstudy 15 Dr. med. Markus Schuler
Universitätsklinikum Dresden
José Carreras Foundation for Leukemia e.V.

Project Details

  • More than 300 questions
  • Questioning of patients in hospital and at home
  • Patients use their own iPad
  • Automatic daily changing of the questionnaire, regardless of time elapsed since discharge from hospital
  • Completed questionnaires hidden after two hours
  • Uncompleted questionnaires displayed for two more days before being hidden
  • Management of iPads via our mobile device management system
  • Supported by

Background to the Study

Even after successful transplant of stem cells from a donor, discharged patients can experience serious and sometimes life-threatening problems as well as complications such as infections and rejection responses. Furthermore, their overall sense of wellbeing is markedly reduced through, among other things, drastic reductions in quality of life and physical resilience. A further problem is that centers in which the patient can be properly cared are sometimes difficult to reach, while in sparsely populated regions there may be no specialized service for hematological care available.

It therefore makes sense to set up communication and information links to the patient in order to identify problems promptly and effectively and be in a position to address them.

Study Design and Goals

Within the framework of the project, in addition to the regular care program, a mobile solution will be used for more intensive gathering of feedback on symptoms and state of wellbeing. Through this continuous recording in the form of a mobile medical diary, early action can be taken in response to possible problems and complications as they arise. The information will be assessed by a so-called ‘pilot’ at the hospital and discussed amongst the team of physicians and other healthcare specialists (physiotherapists, psycho-oncologists). Concrete recommendations can then be implemented or forwarded to the physicians-in-charge on site.

Beside the regular questionnaires concerning quality of life and recording of symptoms, individual aspects of training are worked through with the patient. This program is run in cooperation with the Department of Sports Medicine at Dresden University Hospital.

Die Lösung zur Befragung von Patienten über mobile Geräte.
Patientenbefragung über mobile Geräte.

Patiententagebuch "eHAppI"

Machbarkeitsstudie einer „e-Health“-Applikation zur Kommunikation und Intervention bei Patienten nach allogener Stammzelltransplantation.

First Patient In Studiendesign Patientenzahl Studienleiter Förderung
Februar 2014 Pilotstudie 15 Dr. med. Markus Schuler
Universitätsklinikum Dresden
Deutsche José Carreras Leukämie-Stiftung e.V.

Projektdetails

  • Mehr als 300 Fragen
  • Befragung von Patienten in der Klinik und zu Hause
  • Patienten nutzen eigenes iPad
  • Täglich automatisch wechselnde Fragebögen in Abhängigkeit der vergangenen Zeit seit Entlassung aus der Klinik
  • Ausgefüllte Fragebögen werden nach zwei Stunden ausgeblendet
  • Nicht-ausgefüllte Fragebögen werden noch zwei Tage angezeigt, danach ausgeblendet
  • Management der iPads über unser Mobile Device Management System
  • Gefördert durch die

Hintergrund der Studie

Auch nach erfolgreicher Stammzelltransplantation von einem Fremdspender können bei Patienten nach Entlassung schwerwiegende und zum Teil lebensbedrohliche Probleme und Komplikationen wie Infektionen und Abstoßungsreaktionen auftreten. Daneben ist das Allgemeinbefinden bei vielen noch deutlich reduziert. Hierzu gehören unter anderem schwere Einschränkungen in der Lebensqualität und körperlichen Belastbarkeit. Hinzu kommt die Tatsache, dass die Zentren, in denen die Patienten betreut werden, teilweise räumlich schwierig zu erreichen sind und vor allem in weniger dicht besiedelten Gebieten auch eine spezialisierte hämatologische Mitbetreuung nicht immer verfügbar ist.

Aus diesem Grunde ist es sinnvoll, eine Kommunikations- und Informationsbrücke zu den Patienten zu bauen, um möglichst früh und effektiv Probleme erkennen und behandeln zu können.

Design und Ziel der Studie

Im Rahmen des Projektes sollen zusätzlich zu dem regulären Betreuungsprogramm mit Hilfe einer mobilen Lösung Symptome und Befinden intensiver erfasst werden. Durch diese kontinuierliche Erfassung im Rahmen einer Art mobilem Tagebuch kann frühzeitig auf mögliche Probleme und Komplikationen reagiert werden. Die Informationen werden von einem sogenannten Lotsen der Klinik ausgewertet und im Team der Ärzte und Behandler (Physiotherapeuten, Psychoonkologen) diskutiert. Anschließend können konkrete Empfehlung direkt umgesetzt oder an die vor Ort tätigen Ärzte weitergegeben werden.

Neben regelmäßigen Fragebögen zur Lebensqualität und Symptomerfassung werden auch individuelle Trainingsaspekte mit den Patienten erarbeitet. Dies erfolgt in Kooperation mit der Abteilung Sportmedizin am Uniklinikum Dresden.